Outage Viewer | Pay Your Bill | Contact Us


  Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative  
  "Together We Have The Power To Make  A Difference



BLACKSTONE -- Graduates of the inaugural class of Southside Virginia Community College’s (SVCC) Power Line Worker Training School honored electric cooperative CEOs John C. Lee, Jr., of Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative and Jeffrey S. Edwards of Southside Electric Cooperative for their dedication in helping start the new program. Joined by school instructors, Clyde Robertson and Brad Wike, Lee and Edwards were each made honorary members of the class and given an official school T-shirt and certificate of appreciation.


The first of its kind in Virginia, the school was founded earlier this year by a public-private partnership between Virginia’s electric cooperatives, Southside Virginia Community College and the Commonwealth of Virginia. At a graduation ceremony at SVCC’s Occupational/Technical Center in Fort Pickett near Blackstone, Va., the students were awarded their power line worker certifications, commercial driver’s licenses and CPR/First Aid certifications. Given the demand for power line workers in Virginia and across the country, the 11-week training program has already filled its second class, which is set to begin in July. SVCC is also accepting applications for a third class in October, with plans for a similar schedule in 2017 and years to come.


Graduates of the inaugural class of Southside Virginia Community College’s Power Line Worker Training School and their instructors honor electric cooperative CEOs for their dedication in helping start the program.  Pictured from left are Instructor Brad Wike, Instructor Clyde Robertson, Matthew Cox, Lucas Storey, Lewis Carwile, Southside Electric Cooperative President and CEO Jeffrey S. Edwards, William Jordan, Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative President and CEO John C. Lee, Jr., Joshua Crenshaw, Jackie Lewis, Jr., Derek Staton, Robert Parlante, Jr. and Joseph Anthony, Jr. Not pictured: Cameron Gibbs and Kevin Dalton.


About SVCC:

Southside Virginia Community College is one of the 23 schools in the Virginia Community College System. It was founded in 1970 and has the largest geographic service area of any community college in the state, covering 10 counties and the city of Emporia.


About Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative:

Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative (MEC) is the not-for-profit member-owned energy provider to over 31,000 homes, farms and businesses located in portions of the Virginia counties of Brunswick, Charlotte, Greensville, Halifax, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Pittsylvania, Southampton and Sussex  and the North Carolina counties of Granville, Person, Northampton, Vance and Warren. It is a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, headquartered in Chase City with district offices in Gretna, Emporia and Chase City. This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer. For more information, visit www.meckelec.org.


About Southside Electric Cooperative:

Southside Electric Cooperative (SEC) is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric cooperative that serves over 55,000 homes and businesses in portions of 18 counties in central and southern Virginia. Headquartered in Crewe, SEC has district offices in Altavista, Crewe, Dinwiddie and Powhatan. For more information about SEC, please visit www.sec.coop.





This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer

Copyright 2016,  Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative,  All Rights Reserved